Volunteer Park Neighbors requests that you make an informed decision.

8 Oct

As the public process goes public, neighbors are left wondering why VPC’s first and consistent course of action has been to take their stance to the court of public opinion. We wish that VPC had used the same energy to address our legitimate concerns directly with us.

Despite misinformation on the part VPC, neighbors have attempted to comply with the requests of several City departments curtail our activities to documenting the issues. That has been our attempt; often times, to our public disadvantage.

We hope you consider our honest attempt to do the right thing as you read VPC’s compelling populist appeal in contrast with our solid if unsexy documentation of legitimate issues affecting our daily lives, our very homes.

The issue up for public comment is: VPC’s requested zoning change from grocery to restaurant. Volunteer Park Neighbors offered to write our letters to DPD in support VPC’s zoning change if VPC would address our reasonable concerns. Chief among them is our object to their stated interest in expanding service to their back patio.


One Response to “Volunteer Park Neighbors requests that you make an informed decision.”

  1. allehall October 21, 2010 at 6:41 pm #

    Kristen Sycamore,
    I wanted to thank you for taking the time to participate in what is clearly a critical issue. As you may have noticed, I removed your comment after leaving it up over a period of days during which VP Neighbors’ blog received up to 800 hits a day.

    I write this hoping you will understand that we did let your voice be heard: our intent for this blog was to offer the community a chance to hear our perspective. We felt the community has many places to debate their opinions, as that the media — CH Blog, Stranger, Seattle Met., — have more than adequately showed the perspective that VPC put forth in their poster/email to customers/press releases, inaccurately saying one neighbor was unhappy with their patio and garden. This blog was our place for us to state how we see the situation for any who wish to hear it. I accidentally left comment “allowed” on the page you found.

    I understand that you are one of the folks VPC refers to as feeling the cafe as a much-loved amenity.

    For me, this is about my home.

    I know how hard it is for people who feel that Ericka and Heather are friends as well as the providers of a community amenity. I understand that it is hard to reconcile what neighbors are claiming with what you experience in their cafe.

    I would ask you to take a look at our latest posts, which examine the claims made on their new “Improving neighbor relations” page. Here is the link:

    http://wp.me/P13gjT-6K

    If you have any comments or questions, I am happy to talk more, as long as we can agree to be respectful of each other. You can contact me through VP Neighbors’ phone number (425) 298-6575. I will return your call ASAP.

    I am sorry I can’t say that I know who you are. I am sure that if I saw you on the street, I might, even if I can’t right now put a name to a face. If you see me and want to talk, again, happy to, as long as I am not rushing off to soccer drop-off or what have you.

    Thank you again for your comment.

    Alle C. Hall, aka: Alle

Leave a Reply

